Termite Class this Summer

Termite Course 2017, ENY 4221 / ENY 6248
June 19-23 2017
Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

This summer, the University of Florida Entomology and Nematology Department is offering a unique week-long workshop on termite biology on June 19-23 2017. This course provides a wide perspective on termite biology (evolution, diversity, ecology, behavior, symbiosis, distribution, morphology, control, collection techniques).  This session includes field collection trips and classes.

The course will take place at the UF/IFAS Ft. Lauderdale Research and Education Center, and is organized by Dr. Thomas Chouvenc, Rudolf Scheffrahn, Nan-Yao Su and William Kern.

We highly encourage students and other academics to participate to this workshop, as it provides in-depth insight to many aspects of termite biology, within the general framework of the study of social insects

Posted in Uncategoried | Leave a comment

Awardees Announced for Jeanne, Nutting and Tschinkel Grants

Our hard-working Awards Committee (Stephen Pratt [chair], Terry McGlynn, and Chris Smith) have announced the awardees for this year’s crop of research grants. These recipients were selected from a wide field of applicants and are deserving of our congratulations. The official announcement can be found here.

Jeanne Social Wasp Research Grant – Cameron Fay

Nutting Termite Research Grant – Mark Janwiecki

Tschinkel Ant Natural History Research Grant – Brian Haney

Posted in Uncategoried | Leave a comment