

The George C. Eickwort Student Research Award recognizes a graduate student for distinguished research and scholarly activity in the field of social insect biology. The award consists of a certificate, an honorarium, and a one-year subscription to *Insectes Sociaux*. This year the Awards Committee reviewed a very strong group of nominees with impressive research and publication records. Those who were not successful this year are encouraged to re-apply next year if still eligible. As for this year's award, the North American Section of the International Union for the Study of Social Insects is proud to announce that **Beryl Jones**, **currently at Princeton University**, is the recipient of the 2019 George C. Eickwort Student Research Award. Beryl completed her Ph.D. in Spring 2019 under the direction of Gene Robinson at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She previously graduated from the University of Arizona with a triple-major B.S. in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics, and Molecular and Cellular Biology.

As a recent Ph.D., Beryl has already published an impressive body of work, including first-author papers in journals that include the *Journal of Experimental Biology* and *Proceedings of the Royal Society of London, Series B*. She developed her own research study system as a graduate student, focusing on the facultatively eusocial sweat bee *Megalopta genalis* to evaluate how gene transcription differs between sexes and over the course of development in a species where caste fate is not fixed. This work, in combination with further research with honey bees, led Beryl to clarify ideas about how phenotypic plasticity and genetic accommodation could contribute to the evolution of eusociality. She also stood out in a competitive applicant pool for her extensive service efforts, ranging from organizing conference symposia, to working with farmers and hobby beekeepers, to mentoring research students.

We are proud to have Beryl as a member of our society and we are happy to announce Beryl as the next Eickwort award recipient.

IUSSI-NAS Awards Committee

Rebecca Clark, Hongmei Li-Byarlay, Juliana Rangel, co-chairs; Kaitlin Baudier, Sarah Bengston, Christina Kwapich, and Jürgen Liebig